Do you know what a SACs is?

The Natura 2000 Network, a constant European ecological network of biodiversity conservation areas, in addition to the Special Protection Areas (SPAs) of Special Areas of Conservation (SACs).

The SAC is a definitive protection figure, since the areas are initially designated as Sites of Community Importance (SCIs). An SCI contributes to maintaining or restoring a natural habitat type of those listed in Annex I or of the species included in Annex II of the Habitats Directive. As we said, it is a figure of temporary protection, since they will later become SAC, designated by the Member States through a regulatory, administrative and / or contractual act, and then becoming part of the Natura 2000 Network.

In the SACs, the necessary conservation measures will be applied to maintain or restore, in a favorable state of conservation, the natural habitats and / or populations of the species for which the site has been designated.

The SCI Salinas y Arenales de San Pedro del Pinatar (ES0000175), designated in 2000 and today declared as SAC, coincides with the delimitation of the SPA and houses a total of 15 habitats included in Annex I of the Habitats Directive, being 4 of them priority: 1120 * “Posidonia grasslands (Posidonion oceanicae)”; 1150 * “Coastal lagoons”; 1510 * “Mediterranean salt steppes (Limonietalia)”; and 2250 * “Coastal dunes with Juniperus spp.”

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest

Si continuas utilizando este sitio aceptas el uso de cookies. más información

Los ajustes de cookies de esta web están configurados para "permitir cookies" y así ofrecerte la mejor experiencia de navegación posible. Si sigues utilizando esta web sin cambiar tus ajustes de cookies o haces clic en "Aceptar" estarás dando tu consentimiento a esto.